Westminster’s Kappa Alpha Named One of the Nation’s Top Chapters for Third Consecutive Year

Westminster's Alpha Eta chapter of Kappa Alpha Order with one of the awards. PHOTO COURTESY OF ALPHA ETA.

The men of Kappa Alpha Order with an award they received at the Province Council Leadership Conference. PHOTO COURTESY OF ALPHA ETA.


Back-to-back-to-back honors — this was one of the first thoughts that crossed the minds of the five members of Kappa Alpha Order’s Alpha Eta chapter at the Province Council Leadership Conference when they were named one of the fraternity’s top two chapters in the nation for the third year in a row.

On Feb. 13, Alpha Eta representatives Keagan Cavanah, parliamentarian, Sam Vogel, risk manager, Clayton Harrison, historian, and Chris Asher, vice president, accepted many awards on behalf of their chapter, the most prestigious honor being the George C. Marshall Award for Chapter Excellence.

This award is presented to the top one to three chapters in the nation in recognition of their superior operations and performance. Alpha Eta was one of only two fraternities to be honored this year.

“I am extremely proud of the guys this year,” said senior Mik Ebert, the former president of Alpha Eta who helped during the application process for the Province Council. “We worked hard to receive this award, and it is great to have this incredible honor in the same year as the 125th anniversary, and in the same year that an Alpha Eta Alum was inducted as the Knight Commander (President of KA nationwide). I speak for myself and the rest of the seniors in saying that we are proud of the men in our chapter, and we feel good leaving the house in the hands of the younger men to carry on the strength of traditions.”

The Samuel Zenas Ammen Achievement Award, which represents the top 10 percent of KA chapters in the nation and measures overall chapter excellence, was also presented to Alpha Eta. It was the chapter’s sixth consecutive time and 33rd time overall receiving this award..

The chapter also received the Scholastic Achievement Award for an overall house GPA of 3.25, the Excellence in Educational Programming Award, and Outstanding Recruitment and Chapter Growth Award.

Two of the members at the conference, Chris Asher, ’18, and Clayton Harrison, ’17, were involved in the Province Council process, from the applications to the awards ceremony, and were very happy with the results.

Asher said he was initially shocked after they won the award because of the strong records and credentials of the other chapters.

“Looking back at our record, I felt confident that we deserved the award,” Asher said. “It was also a special experience accepting such a prestigious award in front of all the KA chapters, and I look forward to continuing the tradition of excellence.”

Harrison echoed Asher’s sentiment: “It was nice being a part of the whole process from start to finish, and witnessing how all the hard work that went into the applications helped to better our fraternity as a whole, and because of this, we were able to win our third Marshall in a row.”

Join the conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s